Undo! How Gmail Let’s You Unsend Emails

ADVERTISEMENT

Uh oh. You hit send. Was that really the way you spelled the boss’ name? And you CC’d how many people in the company on that email?

To rescue you from that nightmare scenario, Gmail has a great feature to make sure those emails never get opened. It’s called the Undo Send feature. When you set up your Gmail account to give you the option, you are given up to thirty seconds to hit “Undo” and make sure no one ever sees your email mistakes.

Here is how to set up your Gmail account to offer you the Undo Send option.

1. You’ll need to set up your account. Click the Settings icon (it’s the one with the gear on it) in the top right-hand corner. Select “Settings” from the menu.

undo12. Select the “Labs” tab from the menu. Google calls the Lab features “Some crazy experimental stuff.”

undo2

3. Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the Labs options to find the options for “Undo Send.” Now click the button next to “Enable.” After you do that, go to the bottom of the page and hit “Save Changes.”

undo3

4. This next step is optional, but highly recommended. If you want to give yourself as much time as possible to unsend an email go back to the gear icon and click settings again. On that first page, the “General” settings, scroll down to “Undo Send.” Select “30” seconds from the dropdown menu. Now scroll to the bottom and save your changes.

undo4

5. Now every time you send an email, the dialog box that appears at the top of your Gmail screen that says your email has been sent will also offer you the option “Undo.” All you have to do is press it when you have an email you regret sending. Don’t hesitate! You only have the option to Undo for 30 seconds at most. After that your email is set in stone.

undo5

You’re all set with Gmail’s Undo Send! Just remember, Gmail Labs doesn’t come with a guarantee. They state that these kinds of services can disappear without giving you any prior warning. Go ahead and use them, but be cautious.

ADVERTISEMENT